Hermitage R-IV School Board Meeting

April 18, 2022

The Hermitage R-IV Board of Education held its monthly meeting on April 18, 2022 at 6:30 PM. The meeting began with a reorganization of board members. Darin Newman was recognized for his 7 years of service on the school board. Rosalee Willis was also recognized for her 27 years of service as the Board Secretary. The following new officers were installed: Bradley Pearson as school board President, Richard Turner as school board Vice President, Tony Long as school board Treasurer and Brook Jones as school board Secretary. Dr. Yates provided school updates including a Early Education Center building project update that explained contracts having been signed for BRANCO and sent to the project manager to start the building project, the electric conversion is moving along on schedule with conduit having been ran in the cafeteria, lobby, upper and lower elementary wings. Also, the school received a grant from the state to hire a Postsecondary Career Advisor that will help our students to locate placement after graduation and that the school will be hosting district Baseball at Pickering Park as well as hosting district Track at Skyline.

In new business, The Board of Education approved the 2022-2023 classified staff list for rehire with a raise. The Board also compared bids for a new district website choosing to accept the bid from Gabbart Communications. The new website will be live starting July 1st. The Board also approved the Lowell and Beulah Clinton scholarship recipient to be announced at graduation. Lastly, the Board approved the Memorandum of Understanding for a partnership with OTC to provide training for the new Post-Secondary Career Advisor position.

In Executive Session, the Board accepted the resignation of Ryan Yates who was hired as an Assistant Principal for the Verona School District and hired Matt Moulder to replace Coach Yates as the High School Boys Basketball Coach. The following teachers were also hired: Rachel Carter as the K-12 Counselor, Suzanne Mayfield as a FACS teacher, Natalia Crump as a Title 1 teacher, Leif Griffin as a MS Science and Computer Science teacher, Jaclyn Perkins as a HS SPED teacher, and Ray Aubuchon as a Post-Secondary Career Advisor.